Isn’t this why we got into teaching?

I’ve always been a dreamer. My husband is a dreamer too. I think that’s why we see the world in the same way and I know that’s why we both got into teaching. We’ve always felt a calling to change the world – to somehow leave it in a better state than we found it. We saw teaching as a way to make this happen.

And then we started teaching.

8:00-8:30 learning about long vowels

8:30 – 9:00 using a period at the end of a sentence

9:00-9:30 reading facts about sea creatures

Somewhere in our first few years of teaching we got so wrapped up in the standards, the expectations, the skills – that we forgot why we got into teaching in the first place.

And then we found the PYP.

We packed up our lives up and moved overseas to a new country, a new school and (for us) a new approach to teaching. We had landed our first jobs at an IBO World School and our original passions for making the world a better place was rekindled. Our first year in the program we were equal parts excited and overwhelmed. We survived. And now we are back for our second year – twice as excited and twice as overwhelmed.

This year, I am the PYP Coordinator at my school and this blog is my small attempt to continue to make sense of the PYP, of inquiry and of how to make a real difference in the world through education. Please bear with me as I muse, struggle, make mistakes, take risks and reflect on my own understanding and the things we are trying at our school… and hopefully along the way we can grow, share and build a better understanding of the PYP.

I look forward to your contributions, your challenges, and your ideas.

Because after all…

Like I tell our new staff, when they ask what they PYP is all about…

It’s all about making good humans.

Leave a Reply

